Almond flour Chocolate Chip Cookies

I’ve been congested, which has been making me snore. It’s so bad that I’ve banished myself to the couch so that at least my hubby can get a good night of sleep. It’s so loud that I’m waking myself up. I’ve asked hubby if I’ve been gasping for breath, and how long this has been happening, and he said that I’m not gasping, and it hasn’t been happening for very long (hopefully that means that it’s not sleep apnea). I’m going to try the Breathe Right strips, and some other things to see if I can get my nose working properly so that I can actually sleep.

I used to be an awesome sleeper. I’d fall asleep with in the first 5 minutes of laying my head down. I’d sleep through the night no matter what was happening around me. It was glorious. Kids changed that. Now, don’t think that I regret having my kids, I love them. But I do miss my old sleeping habit. I haven’t figured out how to get it back, and being congested definitely isn’t helping.

For my cookie I made gluten and soy free chocolate chip cookies. It is not easy to find chocolate chips without soy. Only one store in my area has them, and I live in a BIG city.

I’ve heard lots of good things about Almond flour. But I also hear a lot about the problem which is the price. I had an in-store discount though, so I was okay with the purchase. I am grateful for the gluten-free trend. It has put a lot more gluten-free foods out there that are good, and affordable, for those who have to cut gluten out for health reasons.

I’m feeling a little lazy today, so I’m just going to copy the ingredients from the blog, and include a link for you to follow for the rest of the directions.


Week 8

Almond Flour Chocolate Chip Cookies

http://www.thewannabechef.net/2013/04/29/almond-flour-chocolate-chip-cookies-2/

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 12 minutes

Ingredients(Makes about 12* cookies):

                       *I was able to get 17, but I made smaller cookies

  • 1 1/2 cups(6 ounces) almond flour or almond meal
  • 1/4 cup butter, room temperature
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup chopped nuts(optional)
It had 8 ingredients, but it just didn't feel like that much, so in my head this was an easy cookie to make.

It had 8 ingredients. It didn’t feel like that much, so in my head this was an easy cookie to make.

Super sticky. My figures made it easier to work with the dough when flattening out the dough balls.

Super sticky. My figures combined with the spoon made it easier to work with the dough when flattening out the dough balls.

The almond flour does not spread, so whatever shape you make the dough on the sheet is how it will come out as a cookie. So be very careful about how you want your cookies to look.

The almond flour does not spread, so whatever shape you make the dough on the sheet is how it will come out as a cookie. So be very careful about how you want your cookies to look.

The finished product. From start to finish the whole process took less then an hour. Simple cookie, and it makes a small amount, so even if I do eat every single one, it won't be so bad. :)

The finished product. From start to finish the whole process took less than an hour. Simple cookie, and it makes a small amount, so even if I do eat every single one, it won’t be so bad. 🙂

Fresh off the cookie sheet, I’d have to say that the texture of the almond flour threw me off. I’m not used to it, so I think that I concentrated on the flour itself more than the actual taste of the cookie. The wait has begun to have a second taste test when the cookies have completely cooled down.

Hubby said that if they had coconut in them that they would taste exactly like coconut macaroons. That was about the jist of his thoughts. While trying to ignore the different texture in the cookie, I had a hard time tasting much. It has a very subtle flavor. It wasn’t bad, but could have used more “umph”. I wonder what the cookie would taste like with cinnamon and sugar….

Trying to bake gluten-free is difficult. I think a lot of it has to do with trying to get the gluten-free food to look, taste and feel like the original. But that’s not possible because I’m not using the same ingredients. I think that if I could change my thinking and try to find recipes and ways to work with the specific flours that I could have an easier time when trying to find gluten-free recipes in the future. I just don’t have the mental capacity to take this on now. At least I can file away the information until I’m ready to take on more gluten-free recipes.

Leave a Reply

